The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas | ARC Review

April 15, 2016 | Posted by Genesis in Book Reviews | 7 Comments

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas | ARC ReviewThe Darkest Corners
by Kara Thomas
Genres: Psychological, Thriller, Young Adult
Publication Date: April 19, 2016 by Delacorte Press
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository
3 Stars
Source: Publisher via Netgalley

For fans of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places and Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

late chat with gen

Around ten years ago, there was a serial killer that targeted girls. Four were found dead near the Ohio River and that’s how the name “Ohio River Monster” came to be. Tessa and Callie were having sleepover when they were 7-years-old when all of a sudden, Callie says she had seen Wyatt Stokes and that he was the one to kill her cousin, which put Wyatt in prison. After leaving Fayette, Tessa comes back years later to see her dying dad. What makes her stay is a fifth body appears and Tessa starts to question what really happened that night of Callie’s cousin’s death and if they really accused the right person for those murders or if the killer is still on the loose.

For a YA Psychological Thriller, this was a good story, but not great. It entertained me a lot and I read it in a day but I think it could have been done a different way. Nonetheless, I think it was really interesting. While the story is slow, the pace gave the story a more realistic feel to it. In real life, trying to solve a murder case doesn’t just happen over night, especially if you aren’t with the official team (cops, PI’s, etc).

The friendship between Tessa and Callie was very rocky at the beginning but they were able to join forces to figure out who the real killer was. Tessa and Callie would spend days investigating this whole case on their own without help from the cops and it took them a long while to even figure out who could have done it. Tessa isn’t only trying to figure out who’s the killer but also where her sister is because she just up and left one day and never came back so she has a lot on her plate.

At times, the story would feel out-of-place and then get back together but that’s just how I saw it and how it felt to me. What did surprise me were the last few chapters. Everything that unraveled was very mind-blowing. I did suspect this character but, as sometimes it happens to me, I forgot about the character until it came into the story near the end. I couldn’t believe the plot twist that had happened. Not only that, we got another plot twist in the last chapter that left me like…. What?! But it was very good and kudos to Kara Thomas because I really didn’t suspect this at all.

Overall, it was an interesting story that had lots of potential but my expectations weren’t completely met. I still consider it was a good story since it left me entertained.

About Kara Thomas

Kara is the author of THE DARKEST CORNERS, coming April 2016 from Random House/Delacorte. She is also the author of the Prep School Confidential series from St. Martin's Griffin under the pen name Kara Taylor. Kara has written for Warner Brothers Television and currently writes full-time on Long Island, where she lives with her husband and rescue cat.

What are some YA Psychological Thrillers you recommend/are dying to read?

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3