{Blog Tour} ARC Review + Giveaway: Can’t Always Get What You Want by Chelsey Krause

January 16, 2015 | Posted by Genesis in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Giveaways | 1 Comment

{Blog Tour} ARC Review + Giveaway: Can’t Always Get What You Want by Chelsey Krause

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
{Blog Tour} ARC Review + Giveaway: Can’t Always Get What You Want by Chelsey KrauseCan't Always Get What You Want
by Chelsey Krause
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: January 13, 2015 by Loveswept, Random House
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo
3 Stars
Source: Publisher

Fans of Ruthie Knox, Rachel Gibson, and Molly O’Keefe will love this deeply romantic and uplifting debut novel about losing everything you thought you wanted—and getting exactly what you need.

Sophie Richards has been looking forward to a much-needed girls’ night out: a Rolling Stones tribute-band concert, a few drinks, a distraction from her grueling nursing shifts in acute care. But when her best friend bails, Sophie gets stuck with a blind date.

Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. In an instant, her whole life changed, and she forgot all about happily ever after.

But as she gets to know Brett, Sophie starts to wonder about the future for the first time. With a broken heart still clouding her mind, jumping into a new relationship feels impossible. When she’s in his arms, walking away feels even harder. Now Sophie faces an impossible choice: living in the past or choosing love in the here and now.

late chat with gen

Can’t Always Get What You Want is a lovely heart-wrenching story of love and loss. Sophie hasn’t gotten over what happened to Aaron years ago. She hasn’t been able to let herself date someone for real. When her best friend Samira cancels on going to a concert with Sophie, Samira suggests she should take Brett, a man that works with Samira’s boyfriend. Sophie is reluctant at first, but gives in and calls Brett. They start going out but Sophie can’t let go of her first love, which puts a huge dent in her relationship with Brett.

I saw a few negative reviews on Goodreads but I actually enjoyed the story. I must say I did suffer a little when Sophie would flashback to her past with Aaron—I might have teared up a little. The loss and guilt she has felt over the years has pushed her to become guarded. Brett comes in the picture and he is a very nice and handsome man. Now, while sometimes I love the insta-love characters have, it really didn’t do it for me with this story. I wish I had gotten more out of Brett’s and Sophie’s relationship because I couldn’t really click with them. Now, with Sophie and Aaron, I really love those scenes in the book. It made the book come to life.

While I do get why Brett was upset when he found out the truth, at the same time, I wish he would have given more credit to Sophie. If I was in her shoes, I probably would still be devastated and hurt. But she also made a mistake: she didn’t tell Brett the truth from the beginning.

I thought Sophie was going to be a fun and fiery kind of girl but I don’t think she really got to shine in the story. The spotlight was more on her pain and struggle. While I understand it is necessary to show the readers the real pain Sophie was in, I think the focus should have been divided between her struggles and her relationship with Brett. As I mentioned before, there wasn’t much of a connection between these two characters.

I am giving this story 3 stars mainly because of the flashbacks of Aaron and Sophie. Those moments were beautiful and heart-wrenching towards the end of their story. Overall, it is a fast read and at times emotional. I think many readers will enjoy it.

If you liked my review, would you mind liking it on Goodreads and mark as helpful on Amazon? Thank you! 😀

About Chelsey Krause

I was born and raised in Canada, and live with my husband and two children. I’ve been a nurse since 2009. An essay I wrote on intercultural nursing has been published in a nursing anthology.
I love thrift shops, repurposing old junk and learning new belly dance moves. I can’t decide if my favorite movie is either “Bridget Jones’ Diary” or “Fight Club.”
I’ve always wanted to be a writer and in the spring of 2013, I finally sat down and wrote my first book. Now that that’s done, I’m working on my second.
I believe that the best way to become a great writer is to read.

A lot.
And then read some more.
I absolutely love books and would live at the library if they’d let me.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3