Interview with Kathleen Glasgow | 2016 Debut Author Bash

June 23, 2016 | Posted by Genesis in Discussions, Giveaways, Interviews | 11 Comments

Debut Banner

Hey, guys! Welcome to my stop on this year’s Debut Authors Bash! If you would like to follow the rest of the tour and meet other authors, click the banner!

I’m so excited to have Kathleen Glasgow on the blog today! Ever since I found out about Girl in Pieces, I knew I needed the book in my life, seeing as I went through self-harm myself. I love that the author took the risk to write this story, especially for the young adult crowd. Without further ado, let’s start this interview!

INTERVIEW

What inspired you to write Girl In Pieces? Was it from personal experience or simply raising awareness on this matter?

It’s partly from my own experience, but mostly because I wanted to write the book I needed as a teenager. I wanted, first and foremost, to write the story of a girl learning to live in the world. It’s a world that ties her worth to her sexuality, that tells her she doesn’t matter, that tells her to shut up and sit down. It’s a world that says, “If a girl hurts, she’s being dramatic. If a boy hurts, it’s passionate and heroic.” That’s wrong. There’s a moment in the book where Charlie wonders if she can even get any smaller, because if she does, who will know she exists?

In terms of emotional investment into writing Girl In Pieces, how was that process for you?

It was difficult, for sure. There are places I don’t like to revisit, but if I was going to write this particular story, one that is essentially about building a ladder to climb out of darkness, I needed to be honest. All readers deserve honesty. That said, the book is actually quite funny in places, because life has a way of being unintentionally funny, and you can’t ignore that. And I made sure that the story has a lot of hope and kindness, and also a kick-ass scene involving a song from the movie Grease. And I worked very hard to make this book a page-turner, so I hope I was successful!

Name one book that changed your life or had a impact on your life and why.

I say it over and over: it was The Catcher in the Rye. I know people have strong opinions about Holden and his life-view, but for me, growing up when I did, that was the first book that featured someone who talked like me, thought like me, was depressed like me, and liked quirky hats, just like me.

Is there a book trope you don’t like to read about? (Example: insta-love, love triangle, etc)

I have noticed that people are very passionately against insta-love! I mean, it happens! Sometimes people just click and zoom on from there. I fall in love at the drop of a hat, myself. I mean, the other person doesn’t know, of course. (Wait, did I say that out loud?)

Anyway, I’m not against any type of trope. What I like is a good story, first and foremost. Give me great characters and I’ll follow them anywhere.

What’s your favorite quote or scene from your book?

Can I use swear words here? I hope so, because I’m about to. You more sensitive people, please cover your ears. Charlie’s best friend is Ellis, and when I wrote Ellis, I wanted her to be fabulous, funny, uncensored, and wild. I also made her vulnerable, a side she only shows to Charlie. When Ellis likes something, she says, “That’s fucking angelic.” And I love that. It means she’s found something she believes is pure goodness and cannot be fucked with.

Besides Contemporary, is there another genre you’d like to explore in the future?

I’m kind of a die-hard contemporary writer. I don’t know that I have the chops for intricate world-building. Having said that, I am toying with a magical MG, but it is only toying at the moment.

What would you like your readers to remember/take away from Girl In Pieces?

I want readers to know that ladders can be built, that it’s possible to climb out of the darkness. I’m proof. Also, I hope readers come away from Girl in Pieces knowing that they are fucking angelic, each and every one of them.

I have to say I loved this interview! Kathleen seems like such a great woman and I can’t wait to see glimpses of her in Girl in Pieces.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Interview with Kathleen Glasgow | 2016 Debut Author BashGirl in Pieces
by Kathleen Glasgow
Publication Date: August 30th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Book Depository

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep, and the pain washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

About Kathleen Glasgow

Kathleen Glasgow lives in Tucson, Arizona and writes for The Writer’s Almanac radio show. She likes Tyrion and Shireen, chocolate, her kids, her dog, and reading. Girl in Pieces will be published August 30, 2016, by Random House/Delacorte.

GIVEAWAY

Two winners will receive copies of GIRL IN PIECES  and postcards that feature Charlie’s (main character) artwork. US only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are your thoughts on Mental Illness being portrayed in Young Adult novels? Do you think there should be more or less?
Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3
  • Ah, I just finished Girl In Pieces yesterday and it truly was an experience. You really get a feel for Charlie’s emotions and you really root for her even if you don’t agree with her choices. Kathleen is so good at making you feel things and man, everyone should read this book. It is one of my favorites.

    • Omg you did?! I can’t wait to fully start it!

      • I’m so excited for you! It’s so good!

  • I hadn’t heard of this book before. HOW??? But it sounds so interesting. I love the author’s first answer especially and that only makes me want to pick up the book because omg so much truth about boys being passionate, but girl being described as dramatic. Thanks for sharing, Gen!

    • How haven’t you?! I posted it in my weekly recap last week, I believe. I simply saw the cover and KNEW I needed it. I’m excited to fully get into it. I skimmed the first few pages and wow.

  • Very interested in this novel. I haven’t touched a lot of contemporary, but I tend to lean towards a lot of the ones dealing with mental illness or the trouble with being a teenager, so I hope this book will entice me haha.

  • I think this book will send a really powerful message which I think is really important for YA literature. I’m really excited to read this novel!

    • So am I! I really cannot wait to start it.

  • Tia

    I have heard great things about this one! Yes, I think YA books should address mental illness. It affects so many people that we need to understand more about it, and be more sympathetic for those who are having mental issues.

    • Exactly! I hope more books on MI keep coming out.