Mini Reviews: Beautiful Liar & Major Misconduct

December 10, 2015 | Posted by Genesis in Book Reviews | 7 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Mini Reviews: Beautiful Liar & Major MisconductBeautiful Liar
by Tara Bond
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Publication Date: October 6, 2015 by Atria Books
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
3.5 Stars
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Reliable
Nina Baxter has her life all mapped out. She wants to work hard, take care of her younger sister and not end up like her drunk of a mother. Most of all, she plans to stay away from bad influences.

Reckless
Alexander Noble doesn’t give a damn about anything or anyone. The heir to an unimaginable fortune, he’s never had to do a day’s work in his life, and devotes himself to pleasure and partying.

When opposites attract…
From their very first meeting, Nina knows Alex is bad news, and vows to stay away from him. But as their paths continue to cross, she can’t help being drawn to him – especially when he makes no secret of his interest in her.

Can they resist the pull?
For the first time ever, Nina is on the brink of following her heart. But can she believe Alex when he tells her to trust him? Or is he just another beautiful liar?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

gen's thoughts cropped

Nina Baxter is a loyal friend and a loyal sister. She takes care of her barely alcoholic mom and looks out for her sister more than the norm. An accident occurs with Nina’s mom which causes her sister to go to foster care. This situation leaves Nina without a home and she needs to find a job as soon as possible. Alex Noble is a playboy with a huge line of women hovering after him and has the money to help Nina with her financial situation. But Nina is warned to stay away from Alex.

This story hooks you from the start and transports you to London. The scenery described was easy to follow and imagine, which I really liked. The plot keeps you engaged till the very end when various twists are thrown into the story that left me surprised! I think each character complimented one another in the best way possible: Nina gave a sense of responsibility to Alex and in return he gave her the sense of recklessness she needed.

This is an interesting and very intriguing story from start to finish.

About Tara Bond

I grew up in Surrey, England, and read History at Cambridge University before embarking on a series of sensible office jobs. I live in London with my husband, and love reading and writing, as well as watching movies and TV box sets. My guilty pleasures are cocktails and chocolate desserts. I discovered the New Adult genre in the summer of 2012, and have been addicted ever since. My first novel, Beautiful Liar, will be published in eBook on May 2015 and in paperback on 30 July 2015.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Mini Reviews: Beautiful Liar & Major MisconductMajor Misconduct
by Kelly Jamieson
Series: Aces Hockey #1
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Publication Date: October 13, 2015 by Loveswept
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo
3 Stars
Source: Publisher via Netgalley

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

gen's thoughts cropped

Lovey arrives at her brother Duncan’s apartment without a notice that she’s moving. This frustrates Duncan but he welcomes her into his apartment with the promise that she will find an apartment and move. Lovey wasn’t expecting to meet Marc, Duncan’s teammate and roommate. Sparks start flying but they know they have to keep things in the low because Duncan cannot find out.

This was an entertaining read and a good start to the series. I was expecting more of it but it was good nonetheless. The romance was sweet and very steamy between Lovey and Marc. In this story, we see Marc as the sweet and reserved character while Lovey is the wild one. There were times where I really wanted to hit Lovey. She turned out to be irritating and annoying most of the time and I didn’t agree with some of her decisions. On the other hand, I loved Marc. He is loyal to those he loves and is a great friend. If you’re looking for a sports book, this book didn’t quite highlight that aspect of it. It was focused more on the romance and friendship than any talk of sports at all.

If you are into sweet and hot romance, barely any drama and a sport book where you won’t get confused since there’s no talk about the sport, then this one is for you.

About Kelly Jamieson

Kelly Jamieson writes romances with heat that's sweet. Her writing has been described as “emotionally complex”, “sweet and satisfying” and “blisteringly sexy”. If she can stop herself from reading or writing, she loves to cook. She has shelves of cookbooks that she reads at length. She also enjoys gardening in the summer, and in the winter she likes to read gardening magazines and seed catalogues (there might be a theme here...) She also loves shopping, especially for clothes and shoes. But her family takes precedence over everything else (yes, even writing). She has two teenage children who are the best kids in the world, not that she’s biased, and a wonderful husband who does loads of laundry while she plays on the computer writing stories.

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3
  • I think the first one sounds pretty good and I am always a sucker for a London setting!!! Great reviews!

  • Ooh I like that the first book is set in London! I love when couples are complementary so I might really enjoy that one.

    Sweet, hot, drama free sports romance definitely appeal to me, but no talk of sport? That’s sad!!

    Lovely reviews, Genesis!

    • Thank you! If you give them a try, I hope you enjoy them 🙂 I definitely enjoyed Beautiful Liar more and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

  • I love everything about the looks and sounds of Beautiful Liar- I’m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!