MY FAVORITE HALF NIGHT STAND REVIEW | CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

December 4, 2018 | Posted by Victoria in Book Reviews | 3 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
MY FAVORITE HALF NIGHT STAND REVIEW | CONTEMPORARY ROMANCEby Christina Lauren
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: December 4, 2018 by Gallery Books
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
3.5 Stars
Source: Publisher via Netgalley

By the New York Times bestselling author who “hilariously depicts modern dating” (Us Weekly), My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a laugh-out-loud romp through online dating and its many, many fails.

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.

So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter “Catherine”—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon “Catherine” and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.

Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She’s the Man, Christina Lauren’s latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you’ll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Christina Lauren is back again with another great book! I am in awe of how many books they get out in a year, and so thankful that there are so many because I love reading everything they write! My rating for their newest book is a 3.75 out of five stars.

This book is hilarious. It has Christina and Lauren’s signature humor, a relatable main character, and a great romance. I love the friend group portrayed in the book. They’re all involved in academia and are passionate about their careers, and they’re super funny and close with each other and always support one another.

“Is it possible we’re all enabling each other to die alone? Are we turning into a weird celibacy cult?”

Main character, Millie, is obsessed with serial killers and is writing a book about female serial killers, and teaches criminology at a university. I was so excited learning this about Millie because I, and so many of my friends, are obsessed with learning about serial killers and murders and creepy things of that nature. I wish we got to see more of her research and career in the book because there wasn’t enough to completely satisfy me!

Millie is an interesting character. She’s super bubbly but doesn’t go deep with any of her friends, she’s very surface level because of some issues from her past. The surface level friendship hurts Millie and Reid who definitely have chemistry, because Reid wants (and deserves) more from Millie.

“I’m lonely. I’m lonely because I don’t tell people what I need or what I want, and then get hurt when they don’t figure it out on their own.”

I was intrigued with how Christina and Lauren were going to pull of the catfish aspect of the story, and think they did a good job making it seem v realistic. This was such a fun book to read, but I had to give it a lower star rating than most of Christina Lauren’s other books is because of the angst. There’s nothing wrong with the angst in this story, it’s just something I personally am not a huge fan of. I think this book will be relatable to people who have tried to online dating thing, but it still feels awkward. If you don’t have a problem with angst/enjoy reading books that are somewhat angsty I think you will enjoy this one a lot!

“Trying to be cool about banging your best friend is a lot harder than I would have anticipated.”

I think Christina Lauren wrote another great book, and I can’t wait to read whatever they write next! Let me know your thoughts on the book if you’ve read it, or if you’re planning on reading it soon!

Latest posts by Victoria (see all)

3 responses to “MY FAVORITE HALF NIGHT STAND REVIEW | CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)