On the Corner of Love and Hate Review | Contemporary Romance

August 20, 2019 | Posted by Victoria in Book Reviews | 4 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
On the Corner of Love and Hate Review | Contemporary Romanceby Nina Bocci
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: August 20, 2019 by Gallery Books
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
4 Stars
Source: Publisher via E-mail

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

As soon as I read the premise to On the Corner of Love and Hate, I knew I was going to enjoy it. The novel follows Emma, who works for the city of her small town, as she becomes the campaign manager of her best friend turned frenemy Cooper.

“You can’t put him first if you’re going to lose sight of yourself. His feelings are no more important than yours. You come first. Period.”

On the Corner of Love and Hate is a hate to love story. Cooper and Emma grew up together and were best friends, until they had a falling out. They don’t get along anymore and are constantly bickering, but they try to get along because they work together, and want each other to succeed.

It was so fun reading about these characters who don’t really get along, have to work together to make sure Cooper wins the mayoral race. I enjoyed reading about the campaign and everything that went into campaigning. Both characters enjoyed what they were doing, and it was easy to see that. I also liked the small town vibes from the book. At times while I was reading I got Gilmore Girls vibes because of the setting.

Not only was this novel fun to read, but it was funny too. Emma and Cooper have the best banter. They’re so sarcastic with each other and make fun of each other, and I laughed out loud so many times while reading.

“Thankfully, he wasn’t shirtless, instead wearing a thin white T-shirt that looked a few sizes too small. ‘Baby Gap have a sale?”

Just a heads up, the summary makes it seem like the book is going to be told from both Emma and Cooper’s perspectives, but the entire book is just Emma’s point of view. I didn’t have any issues with this, but I was confused the first few chapters when they were only from Emma’s pov.

Overall I really enjoyed this contemporary. It was light and fun, and I can’t wait to read more of Nina Bocci’s writing!

Have you read anything by Nina Bocci yet?

Victoria

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Review
Victoria is a twenty-two year old from Texas. She’s an avid reader of YA and NA, and reads at least seventy books a year. She is new to blogging, but excited to meet new people and share her favorite books. In addition to being a book hoarder, Victoria is a former gymnast, a coffee enthusiast, and aspires to be a mental health counselor.

Latest posts by Victoria (see all)

4 responses to “On the Corner of Love and Hate Review | Contemporary Romance

  1. I have no idea what my problem is with this book. I like the premise and dialogue, but something made me set it aside. Maybe the pacing? I am going to try it in audio and see if it works better that way. Your review has me thinking it picks up.

    Sam@wlabb recently posted: Can't Wait Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)