SHE REGRETS NOTHING REVIEW | AN ADDICTIVE READ

February 5, 2018 | Posted by Victoria in Book Reviews | 2 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
SHE REGRETS NOTHING REVIEW | AN ADDICTIVE READby Andrea Dunlop
Genres: Adult, Contemporary
Publication Date: February 6, 2018 by Atria Books
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
3.5 Stars
Source: Publisher via E-mail

In the tradition of The Emperor’s Children and The House of Mirth, the forgotten granddaughter of one of New York’s wealthiest men is reunited with her family just as she comes of age—and once she’s had a glimpse of their glittering world, she refuses to let it go without a fight.

When Laila Lawrence becomes an orphan at twenty-three, the sudden loss unexpectedly introduces her to three glamorous cousins from New York who show up unannounced at her mother’s funeral. The three siblings are scions of the wealthy family from which Laila’s father had been estranged long before his own untimely demise ten years before.

Two years later, Laila has left behind her quiet life in Grosse Point, Michigan to move to New York City, landing her smack in the middle of her cousins’ decadent world. As the truth about why Laila’s parents became estranged from the family patriarch becomes clear, Laila grows ever more resolved to claim what’s rightfully hers. Caught between longing for the love of her family and her relentless pursuit of the lifestyle she feels she was unfairly denied, Laila finds herself reawakening a long dead family scandal—not to mention setting off several new ones—as she becomes further enmeshed in the lives and love affairs of her cousins. But will Laila ever, truly, belong in their world? Sly and sexy, She Regrets Nothing is a sharply observed and utterly seductive tale about family, fortune, and fate—and the dark side of wealth.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

She Regrets Nothing follows our main character Laila as she meets her estranged cousins for the first time at age 23. After forming a relationship with her cousins and finding out how wealthy her estranged family is, she’s eager to join the family and receive the perks that come with it.

As soon as I started the book I was hooked. Laila meets her cousins for the first time when she’s 23, at her mothers funeral. I was intrigued because Laila didn’t know her cousins existed, and her cousins only knew she existed by overhearing a conversation once. After that first chapter I couldn’t stop reading, I needed to know what happened that caused Laila’s father to become estranged from his wealthy family.

I really enjoyed the author’s writing style, it was not over the top, and was very easy to read. I also loved that the book was set in New York, and was about the New York elite. I think it was a great glimpse into how glamorous their lives are (or at least how glamorous they appear to us from the outside).

For the most part the characters felt kind of pretentious, but I also liked them. I felt that they’re supposed to be unlikable characters, especially Laila, and that’s what made the story so interesting and intriguing. Laila is very obviously only interested in her family’s money and will do basically whatever it takes to get to the top and get what she wants, and that was fun to read.

I think the story was also an interesting look at how money can change people. It is easy to say that you’ll remain the same person you are if you come into a huge sum of money, but I think this story shows how once you get a glimpse and a taste of what life can be like, it’s hard to go back and accept how different your life was without that excessive wealth and everything that comes with it.

The drama that this family deals with was intense, and intrigued me from the beginning. Like most families they have their secrets, except these seem to be darker and more excessive than most. It was interesting to read how the family members act and react to one another, especially since Laila is new to the family and still kind of an outsider.

At times I felt that the story dragged on, and didn’t tie up some loose strings, but overall I enjoyed the book. I definitely went in thinking this was going to be a fluffy contemporary read, but was surprised at how dark it actually turned out to be.

Have you read She Regrets Nothing? What did you think of the story?

Victoria

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Review
Victoria is a twenty-two year old from Texas. She’s an avid reader of YA and NA, and reads at least seventy books a year. She is new to blogging, but excited to meet new people and share her favorite books. In addition to being a book hoarder, Victoria is a former gymnast, a coffee enthusiast, and aspires to be a mental health counselor.

2 responses to “SHE REGRETS NOTHING REVIEW | AN ADDICTIVE READ

  1. Roxana

    Hi Victoria,
    Thank your for this great book review. This books are amazing! Everyone should read it. After i found your review i start searching for the book and i found it on http://justreadbook.com . ( i don’t know if i can leave this link here but i think it will help others). I apologize if i’ve done something wrong. Have mercy! If it wasn’t your recommendations …oh dear Thank you again for your work. You should keep making more book reviews because i like your style of writing ❤

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)