{Blog Tour} Review + Giveaway: Swept Away by Michelle Dalton

May 11, 2015 | Posted by Genesis in Book Reviews, Giveaways | 0 Comments

{Blog Tour} Review + Giveaway: Swept Away by Michelle Dalton

{Blog Tour} Review + Giveaway: Swept Away by Michelle DaltonSwept Away
by Michelle Dalton
Series: Sixteenth Summer
Genres: Contemporary, Novella, Romance, Young Adult
Publication Date: May 5, 2015 by Simon & Schuster, Simon Pulse
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository
3 Stars
Source: Blog Tours, FFBC Tours

Beachfront love blossoms in this refreshing summer romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

Mandy Sullivan isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer months as tourists invade her seaside hometown on the coast of Maine. Her best friend, Cynthia, has abandoned her for camp and her older brother just announced he’ll be staying at college taking classes for the summer, leaving Mandy with nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Hoping to keep herself busy, Mandy takes a volunteer job at the Rocky Pointe Lighthouse. On her very first day, Oliver Farmingham asks for a private tour. A new—and incredibly cute—face in Rocky Pointe, Oliver seems more interested in Mandy than the lighthouse and its history.

Without her best friend at her side, Mandy is scrambling to act the right way and say the right things when Oliver is around. Cynthia—not Mandy—has always been the confident, flirtatious girl that everyone wanted to be around. As Mandy and Oliver spend more time together exploring the coast, biking through the woods, and attending the local summer festivals, their budding friendship becomes much more. But with Mandy’s insecurities creeping to the surface, can she open her heart to someone who will only be in town for three months?

Review

Swept Away is a summer romance story that is cute.

Mandy is helping her mom run the Rocky Point Lighthouse because she doesn’t have anything else to do this summer. She meets Oliver, a cute and sweet guy that is visiting his grandfather for the summer. Once they start spending more time together, romance blossoms. But the end of summer is very near, meaning Oliver could be leaving soon.

I had trouble connect with the characters in the beginning. Around page 100 was when I started enjoying the story a lot and I was liking the romance that was blossoming between Mandy and Oliver. It was fun and young and sweet. It started off as a bit like an insta-love story but the thought dissipates as the story progresses. Oliver was the nerdy, dorky, sweet guy that everyone loves. I loved his time with Mandy and how he really wanted for her to be herself around him. I had trouble with Mandy. Throughout the story, she wasn’t being herself through most of it and that irked me. I also had problems with Cynthia. She disliked Oliver right from the start when he really is a sweetheart with no ill intentions. I was happy when Mandy finally did things she wanted to do and she showed who she really was to her friends and Oliver.

I really loved reading about Oliver and Mandy together. They were so cute and their summer was a productive one, seeing as they participated in a parade and they built something for it. The ending was left to one’s imagination, which I do not like, but I know others love. All in all, it was a cute and short summer story that many may love

About Michelle Dalton

Michelle Dalton is one of the many names Carla Jablonski uses when writing. Her two YAs written as Carla Jablonski (published by Razorbill/Penguin), Thicker than Water and Silent Echoes, were included on the NYPL Books for the Teen Age list, and her graphic novel trilogy Resistance (illustrated by Leland Purvis, published by :01 Books) has won several awards, including the Sydney Taylor Silver Medal. In addition to writing novels she is an actor, playwright, and former trapeze artist. A native New Yorker, she is eternally grateful to her friends who invite her to their beach houses.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

latte - signature

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3