I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson | Review

August 27, 2015 | Posted by Gaby in Book Reviews | 7 Comments

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson | ReviewI'll Give You The Sun
by Jandy Nelson
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Publication Date: September 16th 2014 by Dial Books
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
5 Stars
Source: Purchased

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Review

WOW! Just wow! I have no idea how to express how much I liked this book. I feel like everything I say here will just not cover how much I actually liked this. This book is about love, forgiveness, strength and most importantly about family. Through the story of a boy discovering who he is, a girl trying to figure out who se wants to be and a family learning that the strength lies in union.

This story is told in alternating points of view. One is told in Noah’s point of view when he was 13 and in Jude’s point of view at the age of 16. I actually leaned a little towards Noah’s point of view I just found it more captivating. But don’t get me wrong I loved both sides of the story. Jandy Nelson has an amazing writing style. This book is unlike anything I have ever read. I can honestly say that I have tried to compare this book to other books I’ve read and I cant find one, and to me that is literally the best thing an author could do. I found myself captivated by the story, the writing and the characters. To me the characters are possibly the most important aspect in order for me to like a book and I can honestly tell you guys that I loved Noah and Jude so much.

A story that’s captivating, intriguing and just downright amazing. A book filled with the most beautiful writing, the most amazing quotes and so many surprises. A setting for emotions. An overall work of art. One of my favorite books I’ve read in 2015. I can’t recommend this book enough.

 

About Jandy Nelson

Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her critically-acclaimed, New York Times bestselling second novel, I’ll Give You the Sun, received the prestigious Printz Award, Bank Street's Josette Frank Award, and is a Stonewall Book Award honor. Both Sun and her debut, The Sky Is Everywhere, have been YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults picks (Sun, a Top Ten on Both YALSA and Rainbow Lists) and on multiple best of the year lists including the New York Times, Time Magazine, NPR, have earned many starred reviews, and continue to enjoy great international success, collectively published in over 47 countries. I'll Give You the Sun has been sold to Warner Brothers and screenwriter Natalie Krinsky is currently writing the adaptation. Jandy, a literary agent for many years, received a BA from Cornell University and MFAs in Poetry and Children's Writing from Brown University and Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, she lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings of her novels.

Gaby
Gaby
Follow me 😀

Gaby

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Gabriela, the new co-blogger of this blog, is a Puerto Rican 18-year-old who loves all things book related, especially bookmarks but she is also a music lover, anime watcher and a TV enthusiast.
Gaby
Follow me 😀
  • So glad you loved this. I thought it was great too. I also leaned toward Noah’s side more. Great review!

    Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog recently posted: BTB: If I had a $1000
  • Another 5 star review for this book!! I own a copy, and yet I’m completely intimidated by it. I don’t know why I’m so nervous to read it… I just am. But, Gaby, your review is giving me a push to just READ IT! So glad to see how much you enjoyed it. I really need to make room in my reading schedule for this one very soon. Great review! 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature recently posted: Let’s Chat: Rome in Love by Anita Hughes
  • I remember Caity @ Paper Fury fangirling about this book before! It’s definitely something that I’m keen to read soon. I heard about its beautiful writing and the very unique way it presented the POVs of the characters. So glad that you loved it just as well!

    Faye la Patata recently posted: Review: Shadows by Paula Weston
  • Sam

    This was one of my top 2014 reads. I always want to shout from the mountain tops and tell people to read this book. I loved how it was told from opposite sides of “the event” for a majority of the book, as well as, alternating POVs. I must say, Nelson’s prose is quite beautiful. Love, love, loved this book. Great review.

  • Wow! That is a great recommendation. I am definitely going to have to get this book now. Great review!

    Karen Blue recently posted: Read This Round Up #48
  • So glad you enjoyed this one! 🙂 I read this book this summer and I fell in love with this book! It is definitely one of the best book I read this year. It took me a little while to get into this book, but once I did, I was so invested into the characters and the story. I loved the writing and there are so many beautiful passages!!! 🙂 I just love gushing about this book. You did a great job reviewing it!! 🙂

    Theresa @ Until We Read Again recently posted: Top Ten Tuesday ~ Creative Writing 101
  • I’m always interested in reading reviews of this one because this was one of those books where I feel completely on the opposite from most everyone else. I didn’t listen to my instinct telling me that this didn’t sound like one for me. Instead I was swayed by the hype and read it. And didn’t like it at all. I was so frustrated by the lack of communication. And, most of all, just wanted a fan of Nelson’s writing style. I wish I could have enjoyed it as much as most people seem to… and I’m glad it was such a hit for you! 🙂

    Tanya recently posted: What Are You Reading Wednesday #01