Review: Liars, INC by Paula Stokes

March 26, 2015 | Posted by Genesis in Book Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Liars, INC by Paula StokesLiars, INC
by Paula Stokes
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult
Publication Date: March 24, 2015 by HarperTeen
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository
4 Stars
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away With Murder

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

**You can read the beginning right here**

Review

First off, was I intrigued when I read the title and read the synopsis? Hell, yes! Was it enough to make me request it? Mmm, no, not really. And I’ve been mentally shooting myself ever since. I saw that Marianne from Boricuan Bookworms had an eARC and I asked where she got it from. She said Edelweiss and I immediately searched for it and requested it without a second thought. Now, the wait. I was dying while waiting to get approved. I had seen great reviews, those being from Novel Ink and One Less Lonely Blog.

I was HOOKED on 8%, just starting the book. I had no idea what the hell was going on. When I read it was for fans of Gone Girl, I thought it would be a slow book, like Gone Girl is. And noooo! It is so much fun! So many things happening! When you think you know something, it deviates from your thought and you are left confused. I loved this mind-twisting story. I wasn’t expecting it, especially for a YA book but Paula really brought it!

So many clues are thrown in the book that had me going crazy…seriously. This is a story that actually makes you think about who you trust or how well do you really know the people that surround you. It was a great adventure that I thoroughly enjoyed.

I used to not come up with theories of what would happen in a book until I read Nocte and Verum by Courtney Cole. Those books made me want to think about every single detail, doubt every character until I was 110% they were innocent. So, I put those thoughts to use with Liars, INC. At first, I was guessing and guessing and my mind was going insane. It got to a point where I sat down and just stared at the cover and replayed scenes of the book in my head. A couple of ideas started forming…very horrible ones but there were two that stayed. One of them was right! I finally guessed something of a book but it took me a while to actually think it through and guess it.

If you are not a fan of mystery and thriller, you should still read this book. It is entertaining and you can actually connect with the characters and it is kind of hard to do so with these types of books. I loved Max so much! I messaged Melanie from One Less Lonely Blog and asked her if it was bad that I wanted a sequel. (View Spoiler »)

You guys will love this a lot. I loved it and I cannot say it enough. I wanted more for the ending. I really did, but overall, great story with amazing characters.

liars inc progress

About Paula Stokes

Paula Stokes writes stories about flawed characters with good hearts who sometimes make bad decisions. She’s the author of several YA novels, most recently Liars, Inc. and The Art of Lainey. Her writing has been translated into nine foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands She also loves interacting with readers.

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3