Night Watch (Great novel!) + Dying for Christmas (DNF)

December 26, 2016 | Posted by Genesis in Book Reviews, Multi-Reviews | 4 Comments

Night Watch (Great novel!) + Dying for Christmas (DNF)Night Watch
by Iris Johansen, Roy Johansen
Series: Kendra Michaels #4
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Publication Date: October 25th 2016 by St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads | Amazon
4 Stars
Source: Publisher via Mail

Born blind, Kendra Michaels spent the first twenty years of her life living in the darkness. Then, thanks to a revolutionary medical procedure developed by England’s Night Watch Project, she was given the gift of sight. Her highly-developed senses (honed during her years in the dark), combined with her new found vision, have made her a remarkable investigator, sought after by law-enforcement agencies all over the country. But her newest case finds her uncovering a deadly truth about the shadowy organization that has given her so much.

Kendra is surprised when she is visited by Dr. Charles Waldridge, the researcher who gave her sight. But all is not well with the brilliant surgeon; he’s troubled by something he can’t discuss with Kendra. When Waldridge disappears that very night, Kendra is on the case, recruiting government agent-for-hire Adam Lynch to join her on a trail that leads to the snow-packed California mountains. There they make a gruesome discovery: the corpse of one of Dr. Waldridge’s associates, brutally murdered in the freezing snow. But it’s only the first casualty in a white-knuckle confrontation with a deadly enemy who will push Kendra to the limits of her abilities. Soon she must fight for her very survival as she tries to stop the killing… and unearth the deadly secret of Night Watch.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

What caught my attention for this book was the synopsis. I mean, a female character who used to be blind for 19 years of her life, got her eyes fixed, and now helps solve criminal cases. Count me in!

I absolutely loved Kendra and now I want all of the books in the series so I can get more time with her. She’s like a female version of Sherlock Holmes. Not entirely, but they do have similarities in the way that they pay attention to every single detail without being obvious. In Kendra’s case, it’s because once she got her sight for the first time, she wanted to take in everything her eyes could see so she would focus on everything. And because she was born blind, all her other senses were heightened, as it usually is when someone is blind.

“Sight is such a gift to me that I try to take nothing for granted.”

The prologue is set to hook the reader in immediately and wonder what the heck is going on, what is going to happen, and why is all this happening. Kendra makes this case a priority for FBI since the man who disappears is the doctor who was in the Night Watch project and gave her sight. She feels like she needs to save him and she won’t stop until she does. Kendra’s persistence was always prominent, which I totally liked. Because of it, she would find things out faster than the FBI would. Also, she had the help of Adam Lynch, who has connections everywhere! There’s a small romance going on between them, but it never is of utmost importance—it was more in the background with just enough of attraction and swoony feels to fall for these two.

I admit this book took me a few days to finish, but I was actually very interested, despite my slowness in reading. I’m actually glad it took me a few days to get through it. I usually go through a book very quickly. But this novel demanded to not only be read but also dissected. It needed to be analyzed to enjoy it even more.

I really loved the chase scene towards the end. It had my heart going super fast and had me all tense, waiting for the outcome and resolution. I have to say it was done incredibly well and I was so very happy to see Lynch in action! Throughout the novel, Lynch is described as someone who will do anything to get what he wants, even torture. I didn’t think I would actually fall for this man after learning that, but I did. Lynch is something else entirely and his personality will win you over. Plus, his protectiveness over Kendra was so sweet! But at the same time, it wasn’t overbearing, so it was just perfect. Okay, so back to my point. He didn’t torture anyone in this book, but his badass self came to light and I was all for it.

There’s another character who I totally loved and that’s Jessie. She’s such a badass! She drives a motorcycle like a pro and I was rooting for her. I loved how she was there for Kendra, understood her, and helped her at the end with what Kendra needed to do. Jessie is going on my list of badass female characters for sure!

Overall, Night Watch is perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and they will love Kendra. This novel has crime scenes, badass women, and men, a great action scene, and a lovely and swoony romance.

Night Watch (Great novel!) + Dying for Christmas (DNF)Dying for Christmas
by Tammy Cohen
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Publication Date: November 22nd 2016 by Pegasus Books
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Goodreads | Amazon
 Stars
Source: Publisher via Mail

Out Christmas shopping one December afternoon, Jessica Gould meets the charming Dominic Lacey and impulsively agrees to go home with him for a drink. What follows is a Twelve Days of Christmas from hell as Lacey holds Jessica captive, forcing her to wear his missing wife’s gowns and eat lavish holiday meals. Each day he gifts her with one item from his twisted past—his dead sister’s favorite toy, disturbing family photos, a box of teeth. As the days pass and the “gifts” become darker and darker, Jessica realizes that Lacey has a plan for her, and he never intends to let her go.

But Jessica has a secret of her own … a secret that may just mean she has a chance to make it out alive.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I got to 30% and still couldn’t get into it. Then I read the ending by mistake, which actually got me intrigued so I went back to reading, but still nothing. I skipped ahead and nothing was holding my attention so I decided to DNF it.

The premise sounds beyond interesting. I mean, a woman gets kidnapped and has to survive 12 days of Christmas hell? I was all in. From the start, Jessica was making poor choices and that’s what landed her in the predicament of getting kidnapped. Although she willingly got in the car with Dominic, so it’s not technically kidnapping. He did hold her captive, though.

The creepy vibe that Dominic was giving off had my skin in goosebumps. The way he was treating Jessica had me disgusted, but I just needed to keep reading to know more of what he planned to do and that’s my main reason for reaching a little over 30% in the book. I was so beyond creeped out by him.

As I was reading, I realized Jessica is a very unreliable narrator. Granted, I didn’t read far enough to officially know, but a few things were discussed that lead me to believe that. Then when I skipped ahead, I started to doubt my assumption because something was off in her knowledge of Dominic and how he played a part in her life from even before the captivity.

To be honest, I wanted to keep reading this book just to know how everything came together, but I know I wouldn’t have liked the story. I was already forcing myself to keep going and that’s not good. I love when thrillers catch my attention from the start or at least the first 20%. Sadly, this wasn’t the case with Dying for Christmas.

Genesis
Follow me <3

Genesis

Book Blogger at Latte Nights Reviews
Genesis is a 22-year-old girl who lives in Puerto Rico, an island in the Caribbean. She's obsessed with Instagram (@lattenightsbooks) and coffee shops. When she's not reading or on social media, she can be found eating, at the beach, being with her boyfriend and/or hanging out with friends.
Follow me <3
  • Night Watch sounds really great! Too bad about Dying for Christmas, though. =/

  • I’ve not heard of either of these! I like the idea of a female Sherlock-Holmes-esque character. Subtle romances can be the swooniest, sometimes! I’m sorry you didn’t like the second book here though – definitely not worth the time and effort, it seems.

    Great reviews, Genesis! =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!