The Worst Best Man Review | Contemporary Romance

April 13, 2020 | Posted by Victoria in Book Reviews | 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Worst Best Man Review | Contemporary Romanceby Mia Sosa
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: February 4, 2020 by Avon
Format: eARC
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
4 Stars
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Critically acclaimed author Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy about a woman whose new job requires her to work side-by-side with the best man who ruined her wedding: her ex-fiancé's infuriating, irritating, annoyingly handsome brother. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again...

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Y’all, this book was great! I loved everything about it. It was such a good book, and I didn’t want to put it down until I finished. I was hooked from the start. The premise sounded like something I knew I would enjoy and I was right. The Worst Best Man follows Lina, a wedding coordinator who was left at the alter, and her ex-fiance’s brother, Max, as they’re forced to work together when a great opportunity presents itself.

“There’s no single way to be a badass. Your mother and aunts coming here and making new lives for themselves? Badass. My mother running her own firm even after she and my father divorced? Badass. You facing the obstacles in your path and reinventing yourself in the process? Badass. There’s room for different kinds of greatness. Even if you cry doing it. Hell, especially if you cry doing it.”

The relationship between Lina and Max was amazing. I loved seeing their relationship progress from hate (mostly on Lina’s side) to friends-ish, to more. I loved every interaction between these two. Lina has all her defenses up, which makes sense, but Max doesn’t blame her, instead he eggs her on, and then is there for her when she needs it. Max was so supportive of Lina, which was so refreshing to read about. I also loved the tension between the two because Max is Lina’s ex’s brother.

“When God was handing out best friends, I should have asked more questions about this one’s qualifications.”

Not only was Lina and Max’s relationship great, but Max’s relationship with his best friend was one of my favorites as well. Max and Dean were hilarious together. I loved reading about them being silly with each other, but also willing to be vulnerable and be there for each other when they need it. I definitely want Dean to have his own book because I would love to read more about him, as well as see more of his and Max’s bromance.

Wow, this review is basically me talking about how I love all the relationships in this book. Because I also loved Lina’s relationship with her family. It was so easy to see how important they are to each other and how much they care about each other. I love the portrayal of Latinx families and how close they are, because it reminds me of my family at times.

Overall this was a great book, and I highly recommend it! I can’t wait to read more of Mia Sosa’s books!

Latest posts by Victoria (see all)

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)